The Quality Cycle

This web-tool supports Quality Assurance National Reference Points to fulfil their role, as set out in the EQAVET Recommendation from the European Parliament and Council, 2009.

This Recommendation is based on the four stages of the quality assurance cycle (planning, implementation, evaluation and review). For each stage of the cycle, the Recommendation includes:

  • indicative descriptors which can be used to measure the effectiveness of existing arrangements;
  • indicators which can be used to measure performance.

The web-tool is set out in two sections:

  • guidance at a regional or national level;
  • guidance for individual VET providers;

In addition, the tool includes examples of good practice across Europe, a glossary of key terms used in VET, links to European documents relating to VET and a summary of Member States’ progress in implementing this Recommendation.

Read more here