The EQAVET Quality Assurance reference framework for vocational education and training is based on the 2009 Recommendation of the European Parliament and Council. Currently VET providers are using many different approaches to quality assurance. Some of these are in line with existing national or international quality assurance systems. Others have been designed to meet the VET provider's own circumstances. EQAVET is an approach to quality assurance or a reference framework for VET which has been agreed by Member States. The Quality Assurance National Reference Points across Europe play an important role in supporting the implementation of the EQAVET reference framework.

EQAVET offers VET providers a straight forward way to monitor and improve the quality of their provision. It is based on the four stage cycle of planning, implementation, evaluation and review which is at the heart of many other quality assurance approaches. This web resource provides guidance on how to develop a quality assurance approach and contains examples of different approaches used by VET providers.

Stage 1


Set up clear, appropriate and measurable goals and objectives in terms of policies, procedures, tasks and human resources.

More about Stage 1

Stage 2


Establish procedures to ensure the achievement of goals and objectives (e.g. development of partnerships, involvement of stakeholders, allocation of resources and organisational / operational procedures).

More about Stage 2

Stage 3


Design mechanisms for the evaluation of achievements and outcomes by collecting and processing data in order to make informed assessments.

More about Stage 3

Stage 4


Develop procedures in order to achieve the targeted outcomes and / or new objectives. After processing feedback, key stakeholders conduct discussion and analysis in order to devise procedures for change.

More about Stage 4